Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College Board of Governors Special Meeting of July 26, 2012 Room 428, Building C and by Teleconference 2900 Dempsey Branch Road, Mount Gay, WV

Board Members Present: Tom Heywood, Terry Sammons, Linda Akers, George Kostas, Jada Hunter,

Shelley Huffman, George Morrison, Eileen Aranas

Board Members Absent: Glenn Yost, Kevin Fowler, Wilma Zigmond, Debbie Dingess

Administrative Staff: President Joanne Jaeger Tomblin, Emma Baisden, Harry Langley, Gary

Holeman

1. Call to Order

Mr. Tom Heywood, Board Chair, declared a quorum present and convened the special meeting of the Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College Board of Governors at 9:00 a.m.

2. Request for Approval of SCP-7000, E-mail Established as an Official Form of Communication

MOTION: Shelley Huffman moved the adoption of the following resolution:

RESOLVED, That the Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College Board of Governors grant final approval of SCP-7000, *E-mail Established as an Official Form of Communication*, following the required 30-day public comment period.

ACTION: George Kostas seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

3. Request for Approval of Appointments to the Boone County Joint Administrative Board

MOTION: George Kostas moved the adoption of the following resolution:

RESOLVED, That the Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College Board of Governors approve the reappointment of Samuel M. Litteral and Allyn Sue Barker to represent the Board of Governors on the Boone County Joint Administrative Board established to facilitate the administration, operation, and financing of joint programs and facilities of Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College and the Boone County Board of Education; and

FURTHER RESOLVED, Samuel M. Litteral will serve a three-year term ending June 30, 2015, and Allyn Sue Barker will serve a two-year term ending June 30, 2014. By mutual consent of the Board of Governors and the Boone County Board of Education, Kevin Hill will serve as the at-large member and Chair of the Joint Administrative Board.

ACTION: Shelley Huffman seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously

4. Adjournment:

There being no further business, Chair Heywood declared the meeting adjourned at 9:10 a.m.

Thomas A. Heywood, Chair

Emma L. Baisden, Recorder

Executive Assistant to the President/Board of Governors